When the Musée des Arts Décoratifs celebrates the duo Margiela/Hermès : a flamboyant exhibition

Focus on the collaboration of the couturier with the house Hermès


Carte blanche to « Margiela, les années Hermès » at the MAD


Martin Margiela, a mysterious Belgian couturier, sees his work highlighted in Paris during Spring 2018.


As the Palais Galliera unveils its retrospective dedicated to the creator's career, the Musée des Arts décoratifs opens its exhibition "Margiela, Hermès years", a focus on the collaboration of the couturier with the french house from 1997 to 2003.


After Anvers, the Musée des Arts Décoratifs is hosting since the 22nd March to the 2nd Septembre 2018 the exhibition "Margiela, Hermès years" designed and presented in 2017 by the MoMu, Musée de la Mode d’Anvers (Anvers Museum of fashion).


A true immersion into the universe of Martin Margiela, who handles the artistic direction of the exhibition himself.



A couturier who declines interviews


Almost 30 years ago, Martin Margiela creates his own eponymous designer house. The couturier evolves in a universe of creations with minimalist but very avant-garde lines. For many years, the couturier declines interviews and doesn't want to put his name on his creations' labels. White, sewn at the 4 opposite points, they finally become a sign of recognition. The famous "blanc de Meudon" is chosen as a signature for his fashion shows and for the outfits of his staff dressed in immaculate overalls. 




His collaboration with Hermès forces Margiela to go public


It is in 1997 that the couturier goes public by heading up the women collections of the house Hermès. When in Octobre of this very year Jean-Louis Dumas, Hermès president and artistic manager at the time, asks Martin Margiela to draw women ready-to-wear collections, it is a bold choice, breaking with the usual trends in the universe of fashion, where "star" designers are hired. The house Hermès creates a sensation by calling on this iconoclastic creator hardly anyone even knows the face.




Monochromes far from Hermès shimmering prints


Thus, for 6 years, Martin Margiela is in charge of the women collections, thinking up 12 collections influenced by his vision of contemporary luxury, mixing a refined style with a monochrome colour palette. This universe is reproduced within the Musée des Arts Décoratifs, where a hundred of figures he thought up for Hermès and those he made for his own designer house are discussing, between innovative deconstruction and timeless luxury.



Martin Margiela develops a work against the flow of an era of logomania and standardisation, that already takes shape on a large scale. He surprises with his constructed/deconstructed cuts, his oversize volumeshis recycled materials or even his monochrome fabrics that underline the handmade aspect of his creations. 


Comfort, timelessness, sensuality, authenticity are the keywords to define his vision of the Hermès woman associated to a refined style. The new plain and monochrome colour palette he requires is far from the very coloured universe of Hermès prints and provokes amazement among the media. He introduces in Hermès a cut and colour refinement thanks to exceptional parisian saddler materials and numerous innovations. 


A path between the Margiela white and the Hermès orange


During this exhibition, the visitor comes across creations, sketches, photographs and videos through a path where the orange from the house Hermès and the white of the house Martin Margiela responds to one another.


This way, the visitor grasps a creative process that goes through the two houses and each of their codes, without mixing them up. It is the first time that the musée des Arts décoratifs is interested in a major fact of fashion history, when a designer splits between his collaboration for other houses and his own house. 


MAD PARIS, 2018, photograph by Luc Boegly


MARGIELA, LES ANNÉES HERMÈS

from the 22nd March to the 2nd Septembre 2018

Curator
 • Marie-Sophie CARRONDELACARRIÈRE, heritage chief curator

Artistic direction
 • Martin MARGIELA

Scenography
 • Bob VERHELST

Also, read : Hermès on auction, what a great occasion

Quand le MAD célèbre le duo Margiela/Hermès : une exposition flamboyante

Focus sur la collaboration du couturier au sein de la maison Hermès


Carte blanche pour « Margiela, les années Hermès » au MAD


Martin Margiela, mystérieux couturier belge, voit son travail mis à l'honneur à Paris en ce printemps 2018.


Alors que le Palais Galliera dévoile sa rétrospective dédiée à la carrière du créateur, le Musée des Arts décoratifs ouvre son exposition "Margiela, les années Hermès", un focus sur la collaboration du couturier au sein de la maison française de 1997 à 2003.


Après Anvers, le Musée des Arts Décoratifs accueille du 22 mars au 2 septembre 2018 l’exposition « Margiela, les années Hermès » conçue et présentée en 2017 par le MoMu (Musée de la Mode d’Anvers).


Une véritable plongée dans l'univers de Martin Margiela, qui assure lui-même la direction artistique de l'exposition.



Un couturier qui refuse les interviews


Il y a tout juste 30 ans, Martin Margiela crée sa maison de couture éponyme. Le couturier évolue dans un univers de créations aux lignes minimalistes mais très avant-gardistes. Pendant des années, le couturier refuse les interviews et de faire apparaître son nom sur les étiquettes de ses créations. Blanches, cousues par 4 points, elles deviennent finalement un signe de reconnaissance. Le fameux « blanc de Meudon » est choisi comme signature pour ses défilés et pour les tenues du personnel vêtu d’une même blouse immaculée. 




Sa collaboration avec Hermès oblige Margiela à sortir de l'anonymat


C'est en 1997 que le couturier sort de l'anonymat en prenant la tête des collections femme de la maison Hermès. Lorsqu’en octobre de cette même année Jean-Louis Dumas, alors président et directeur artistique d’Hermès, demande à Martin Margiela de dessiner les collections de prêt-à-porter femme, il s’agit alors d’un choix audacieux, en rupture avec les tendances de l’univers de la mode, plus enclin à engager des stylistes « stars ». La maison Hermès crée donc la surprise en faisant appel à ce créateur iconoclaste dont personne ou presque ne connaît même le visage




Des monochromes loin des imprimés chatoyants d'Hermès


Ainsi, pendant 6 ans, Martin Margiela prend les rênes des collections féminines, imaginant 12 collections influencées par sa vision du luxe contemporain qui mêle un style épuré avec une palette de couleurs monochrome. Cet univers est retracé entre les murs du Musée des Arts Décoratifs, où dialoguent une centaine de silhouettes qu'il a imaginées pour Hermès et celles pensées pour sa propre maison de couture, entre dé-construction novatrice et luxe intemporel.



Martin Margiela développe un travail à contre-courant d’une époque de logomania et de standardisation, qui s’esquisse alors déjà à grande échelle. Il surprend avec ses coupes construites-déconstruites, ses volumes oversizeses matières recyclées ou encore ses tissus monochromes qui soulignent l’aspect artisanal de ses créations. 


Confort, intemporalité, sensualité, authenticité sont les maîtres mots définissant sa vision de la femme Hermès associée à un style épuré. La nouvelle palette de couleurs sobres et monochromes qu’il impose s’éloigne de l’univers coloré des imprimés Hermès et suscite l’étonnement auprès de la presse. Il introduit chez Hermès une épuration de la coupe et des couleurs s’appuyant sur les matières d’exception du sellier parisien et intégrant de nombreuses innovations. 


Un parcours entre le blanc Margiela et le orange Hermès


Dans cette exposition, le visiteur navigue entre créations, esquisses, photographies et  vidéos selon un parcours où se répondent l’orange de la maison Hermès et le blanc de la Maison Martin Margiela


Ainsi le visiteur appréhende un processus créatif qui navigue sans confusion entre les deux maisons et chacun de leurs codes. C’est la première fois que le musée des Arts décoratifs s’intéresse à un fait majeur de l’histoire de la mode, quand un créateur se dédouble entre sa collaboration pour d’autres Maisons et la sienne. 


MAD PARIS, 2018, photographie Luc Boegly


MARGIELA, LES ANNÉES HERMÈS

du 22 mars au 2 septembre 2018

Commissaire
 • Marie-Sophie CARRONDELACARRIÈRE, Conservatrice en chef du patrimoine

Direction artistique
 • Martin MARGIELA

Scénographie
 • Bob VERHELST