Robert Ladou (1929-2014) : the horse's glory


Watch our reportage on bidtween TV

See items of Robert Ladou


A painter riding his passions 


Picture of Robert Ladou

"Les Cavaliers"
"Passionate", this is what defines the artist Robert Ladou, who had horse and painting as central themes in his life. Bidtween has the honour of presenting on auction the studio collection of this talented painter whose life has been guided by this two passions.



He named his horse Cézanne


Robert Ladou has been immersed from a very young age into the horse riding world. His uncle, president of the Gentlemen from Lyon's Club, entrusts him rapidly with halter breaking the foals. At eighteen years old, he is an amateur jockey, he becomes a sous-maître at the Cadre-Noir of Saumur during his military service. At this time he is already passionate about horses and painting, so he goes at the end of his national service in England where he learns fabric painting.

                   

Influenced by Lyon's silk - where he comes from -, he creates scarves' designs for great London couturiers. One day, he fell from his horse and is seriously injured. He had to stop his rider career. Was his horse named Cézanne already announcing his talent of painter ?    

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  

"Cheval"
   
"Les lutteurs"

 


A talent for horse painting


Nonetheless, Robert Ladou does not give up the riding world : he puts it at the center of his paintings. With a precise knowledge on the anatomy of horses, he is now seen as a main figure in horse painting.

                                                                    

"Jockey"

Thanks to his artistic and scientific skills, he is asked in 1982 to draw around twenty large format paintings and a hundred and sixty anatomic boards for the Horse Museum in Chantilly. This production is one of his major artworks in his whole life.  Again, in this educational effort, he draws the "horse book" edited by Gallimard jeunesse. 



More decorative, his works on canvas enhance horses. Still, galloping or jumping, no matter the position, the artist's paintbrush masters all the moves. The powerful horse triumphs through a realistic painting thanks to the details that make its hair shine. A few strokes are sufficient to give the charger all its strength through an abstract painting.

But, as a tormented artist, Ladou was always adjusting his works, continuously looking for perfection.    

                                                                                   

                                                                   

An artist with a colossal work


"Tapioca et les enfants"

Even though horse is his area of expertise, Robert Ladou is a prolific painter. With more than a thousand and eight hundred artworks, his artistic production is of a big diversity.


He drew his inspiration from Poussin, Velasquez or Andrea del Sarto's artworks by reproducing them his way.


The Fontainebleau forest, close to his studio, inspired him realistic, abstract or Japanese-inspired landscapes. Fashion had also an important place in the artist's artwork, with a great contribution to famous designer houses, drawing the scarves' patterns of Pierre Balmain, Lanvin and Nina Ricci which drawing books are on sale on Bidtween. He made some paintings for the biscuit company Lu, with one of his most famous painting, "Le Goûter", where his children are the models in this family scene. 


Nude studies, his children portraits and interior sceneries are part of the various collection of Robert Ladou.

Robert Ladou (1929-2014) : le triomphe du cheval

Robert Ladou (1929-2014), le triomphe du cheval


Voir notre reportage sur bidtween TV

Voir les œuvres en vente


Un peintre à cheval entre deux mondes


Tableau "Les Cavaliers"



Photo de Robert Ladou


Partagé toute sa vie entre deux passions, Robert Ladou a fait du cheval et de la peinture le fil conducteur de sa vie. Tour à tour cavalier et dessinateur de mode, c’est finalement la peinture de cheval qui lui permet de combiner ses passions. Bidtween a l'honneur de disperser aux enchères le fonds d'atelier de cet artiste talentueux et prolifique.



 

Un cheval nommé Cézanne


Robert Ladou est baigné dès son plus jeune âge dans le monde cavalier. Son oncle, président du Club des Gentlemen lyonnais, lui confie rapidement le débourrage des poulains. À dix huit ans, jockey amateur, il devient sous-maître au Cadre-Noir de Saumur pendant son service militaire. Déjà partagé entre cavalerie et peinture il se rend, à son retour dans la vie civile, en Angleterre où il apprend la peinture sur tissu.


Influencé par la soierie de Lyon -dont il est originaire-, il crée des modèles de foulards pour de grands couturier londonien. Une grave chute de cheval l'oblige à arrêter sa carrière de cavalier. Son cheval nommé Cézanne, annonce-t-il déjà son talent de peintre ?


                  

Tableau "Cheval", huile sur papier marouflé

Tableau "Les lutteurs"




Le talent au service du cheval


Néanmoins, Robert Ladou n'abandonne pas le monde cavalier : il en fait le sujet de sa peinture. Connaissant avec précision l’anatomie hippique, il fait figure de référence comme peintre du cheval.


Tableau "Jockey", huile sur papier marouflé


Sa maîtrise autant artistique que scientifique lui vaut une commande en 1982 pour le Musée du Cheval à Chantilly, pour lequel il réalise une vingtaine de tableaux grand format et cent soixante planches anatomiques. Cette production est une des oeuvres majeures de sa vie. Dans ce même élan pédagogique, il illustre le « livre du cheval » édité chez Gallimard jeunesse.


Plus décoratives, ses oeuvres sur toiles subliment le cheval. Immobile, galopant, sautant,  qu’importe la position, tous les mouvements sont domptés par le pinceau de l’artiste. D’un tableau réaliste, le cheval puissant triomphe grâce aux détails qui font luire son crin. D’un tableau abstrait, quelques traits suffisent pour donner au destrier toute sa force.


Mais, artiste tourmenté, Ladou retouchait continuellement ses œuvres à la recherche de la perfection.



Un artiste à l’oeuvre colossale


Tableau "Tapioca et les enfants"


Bien que le cheval soit son sujet de prédilection, Robert Ladou est un peintre prolifique. Riche de plus de mille huit cents oeuvres, sa production artistique est d’une grande diversité.


Il s'inspire des œuvres de Poussin, Velasquez ou Andrea del Sarto en reproduisant leurs œuvres en les revisitant.


La forêt de Fontainebleau, proche de son atelier, lui inspire des paysages réalistes, abstraits ou japonisants. La mode a également sa place dans l’oeuvre de l’artiste, avec une grande contribution pour les Maisons de Haute-Couture dessinant les motifs de foulards pour Pierre Balmain, Lanvin et Nina Ricci, dont les carnets de croquis sont en vente sur Bidtween


Il réalise pour la biscuiterie Lu quelques tableaux, dont un de ses plus célèbres, « le gouter » pour lequel ses enfants ont posé.


Etudes de nus, portraits de ses enfants et scènes d’intérieurs font aussi partie du corpus varié de Robert Ladou.


Voir notre reportage sur bidtween TV