Why buy Original Murano Glass?

Murano glass is a reference for the purchase of your decorative objects.



With undeniable know-how, Murano glass is a reference for the purchase of your decorative objects.


Murano Glass is renowned throughout the world and makes the reputation of the glass factories of the Republic of Venice.  Buying a product manufactured by the famous glass masters installed since the 13th century on the island of Murano is not only to acquire a product of exceptional quality but also to offer a work of art. 


The history of Murano Glass – the island of pendants

In the Republic of Venice, originally, houses, shops, workshops, were built in wood. The kilns of the Glass Blower, during their departures (ignition) issued sparks that propagated on these buildings initiating many devastating fires. The Venetians worried about the risks of their homes, forced the glass artisans to set up their kilns on the island of Murano, which became the place of choice for the transformation of glasses. It was in 1271 that we began to talk about the products blown by the Glass masters as "works of Art", the Giustzia Vecchia having subjected the transformation of the drink to the Mariegola (Regulation), the status of Rights and duties relating to the management of the arts and Trades present in the city.


What is the technique used to make Murano glass?

Pair of Murano lamp circa 80

 

Pair



Murano Glass manufacturers maintain their monopoly on the manufacture of quality glass, develop and refine many techniques, such as crystals, enamel, gold wire trimmings, multi-coloured glasses (millefiori), glass milk (Lattimo) , the Aventurine (copper dust) for imitation of glass gemstones, crystalline glass or Venetian glass (created by Angelo Dorovier), glass decorated with spiral or retort glass nets or watermarks with so-called Reticello fishnet, perpetuating Secular techniques and is highly sought after by many collectors and lovers of Murano glass products.  




Glass suspensions, works of art, jewellery creation, mirrors: The Murano glass is produced in all its forms.


The chandeliers of Giovani Nicola, the pearls of Muriel balusteri, the vases and sculptures of Antonio Seguso, of CesarToffolo (designer of the Vetro Magazine) and one of the greatest master-Glassmen with the most original design, Claudio Boaretto, Davide Salvadore, Alfredo Barberin, are always present on the Le and their productions are always very sought after. Buying a service of Murano wine glasses, for example, is the pledge of an elegant table. Buy a sculpture, paper-Press in enamels, a glass-paste lamp, a chandelier, with classic or antique design, a glass bead jewellery with shiny colours, signed by one of these artisans is the sign of a refined taste.


Murano has its Glass museum installed in Palazzo Giustiniani where exhibitions on the history of glassware are offered from the Egyptian era to the present day. In the middle of the fifteenth century, artist and scientist Angelo was able to obtain a new type of extremely pure glass, similar to the crystal that he would call himself: Crystalline glass (Venetian crystal). In the eighteenth century, Murano produced many drinking glasses, jugs, floor trays, glass mirror frames of all shapes and colours.

Abbé Vincenzo ZANETTI founded the Murano Museum of Glass Art in 1861. It is by visiting this museum that master-glass artists such as TOSO, FUGA and Dorovier will find inspiration. The sector is experiencing a new growth thanks to the reproduction of the most beautiful blown glasses produced in the previous centuries. Murineromaines, enamels at Feuet gold leaf decorations Graffita.


EGIDIO founded the Forge of the Angels (thus baptized by Jean Cocteau) in 1950, giving a new impetus to the glass sector, which then passed from the artisanal stage to the work of art. Murano then saw the arrival of contemporary artists such as PICASSO, BRAQUE, CHAGALL, le CORBUSIER, KOKOSCHKA and many others. They will work with great glass masters such as Aldo "POLO", Archimedes SEGUSO, Aldo Nason, Angelo TOSI.


Some great old glass masters


Domenicus PHOLARIUS (10th century) was the first bottle-blower.


The Bahadur dynasty is known at around 1440 with the arrival in Murano of Giorgio Bahadur with his father, his mother and his brother Stefano. Giorgi di Pietro, called ZORZl da SPALATINO dito Larin, is considered the true ancestor of the illustrious Bahadur family of Murano. Entered around 1456 at the service of the Glassman Domenico Caner who had opened an oven, he learned "The Art of Glass" like no other before him. 


The 15th century Angelo. Probably born in Treviso. Renaissance Master of Glass. He worked mainly on crystal and vitreous glazes. He invented the transparent ruby-coloured glass highly sought after for the manufacture of jewellery. It owes a large part of the development of the local canopy activity. This family business is still active on the island of Murano


Domenico Caner circa 1430 – on the island of Murano the TOFFOLO dynasty


Giacomo TOFFOLO-Florino TOFFOLO Designer of the Vetro Magazine.  He is one of the greatest glass-master of Murano, one of the most original artists, one of those who evolve the art of Venetian glassware. Its vases, glasses, jewellery, cups, blue cups, fruit bowls are exhibited at Galerie César Toffolo in Murano.


Some contemporary designers on the island of Murano


Silvano Signoretto – Vases – mirrors – chandeliers. "His works are the expression of beauty in Murano."


Massimiliano CALDARONE-Glass sculpture-Murano glass beads


FeiToso di TOSO RENZO – Glass burner


Alfred BARBINI – Lamps – vases – glass sculpture.


See our available lots on Bidtween

Pourquoi Acheter le verre de Murano ?

Le verre de Murano est une référence pour l’achat de vos objets décoratifs

Avec un savoir-faire incontestable, le verre de Murano est une référence pour l’achat de vos objets décoratifs.


Le verre de Murano est réputé dans le monde entier et fait la notoriété des verreries de la République de Venise.  Acheter un produit fabriqué par les célèbres maîtres verriers installés depuis le XIIIe siècle sur l’ile de Murano est non seulement acquérir un produit de qualité exceptionnelle mais aussi s’offrir une œuvre d’art. 

L’histoire du verre de Murano – l’île des pampilles

En République de Venise, à l’origine, maisons, boutiques, ateliers, étaient construits en bois. Les fours des verriers, lors de leurs départs (allumage) émettaient des étincelles qui se propageaient sur ces constructions initiant de nombreux incendies dévastateurs. Les vénitiens inquiets des risques encourus par leurs habitations, obligèrent les artisans verriers à installer leurs fours sur l’ile de Murano qui devint ainsi le lieu d’élection de la transformation du verre. C’est en 1271 que l’on commença à parler des produits soufflés par les maîtres verriers comme « œuvres d’art », la Giustzia Vecchia ayant soumis la transformation du verre à la Mariegola (règlement), statut des droits et devoirs relatifs à la gestion des arts et des métiers présents dans la cité.


Quelle est la technique employée pour réaliser du verre de Murano ?


Les verriers de Murano maintiennent leur monopole sur la fabrication du verre de qualité, développent et peaufinent de nombreuses techniques, telles que les cristaux, l’émail, les parures en fil d’or, les verres multicolores (millefiori), le lait verre (lattimo), l’aventurine(poussière de cuivre) pour l’imitation de pierres précieuses en verre, le verre cristallin ou verre venitien (créé par Angelo BAROVIER), le verre décoré de filets de verre en spirales ou retorli ou de filigranes à résilles dits reticello, perpétuant les techniques séculaires et est fort recherché à l’achat par nombre de collectionneurs et amateurs des produits en verre de Murano.  


Suspensions en verre, œuvres d’art, Création de bijoux, miroirs : Le verre de Murano est produit sous toutes ses formes.


Les lustres de Giovani Nicola, les perles de Muriel Balensi, les vases et sculptures d’Antonio Seguso, de CesarToffolo (concepteur du Vetro Magazine) et l’un des plus grands maîtres-verriers à la conception la plus originale,  Claudio Boaretto, Davide Salvadore, Alfredo Barberin, sont toujours présents sur l’le et leurs productions sont toujours très recherchées. Acheter un service de verres à vin de Murano, par exemple, est le gage d’une table élégante. Acheter une sculpture, des presse-papier en émaux, une lampe en pâte de verre, un lustre, au design classique ou ancien, un bijoux en perles de verre aux couleurs rutilantes, signés par l’un de ces artisans est le signe d’un goût raffiné.


Paire de lampes Barovier en Murano - Circa 1980 

Murano possède son Musée du Verre installé dans la Palazzo Giustiniani où sont proposées des expositions sur l’histoire de la verrerie  depuis l’époque égyptienne jusqu’à nos jours. Vers le milieu du XVe siècle, Angelo BAROVIER, artiste et scientifique, réussit à obtenir un nouveau type de verre extrêmement pur, semblable au cristal qu’il appellera lui-même : verre cristallin (cristal vénitien). Au XVIIIe siècle, Murano produisit en grand nombre verres à boire, brocs, plateaux à étage, encadrements de miroirs en verre de toute formes et de toutes couleurs.

L’abbé Vincenzo ZANETTI fonde en 1861 le Musée d’art verrier de Murano. C’est en visitant ce musée que des maîtres-verriers tels que, TOSO, FUGA et BAROVIER retrouveront l’inspiration. Le secteur connaît alors un nouvel essor grâce à la reproduction des plus beaux verres soufflés produits au cours des siècles précédents. Murineromaines, émaux au feuet décorations à la feuille d’or graffita.

EGIDIO fonde la Forge des Anges (ainsi baptisée par Jean Cocteau) en 1950,  donnant une nouvelle impulsion au secteur verrier qui passa alors du stade artisanal à celui d’œuvre d’art. Murano vit alors arriver des artistes contemporains tels que PICASSO, BRAQUE, CHAGALL, Le CORBUSIER, KOKOSCHKA et bien d’autres. Ils travailleront avec de grands maîtres verriers tels que Aldo « POLO », Archimède SEGUSO, Aldo NASON, Angelo TOSI.


Quelques Grands Maîtres Verriers anciens


Domenicus PHOLARIUS (Xe siècle) fut le premier souffleur de bouteilles.

La dynastie BALLARIN se fait connaître aux environ de 1440 avec l’arrivée à Murano de Giorgio BALLARIN avec son père, sa mère et son frère Stefano. Giorgi di Pietro, dit ZORZl da SPALATINO dito BALARIN,  est considéré comme le véritable ancêtre de l’illustre famille BALLARIN de Murano. Entré vers 1456 au service du verrier Domenico CANER qui avait ouvert un four, il apprit « l’art du verre » comme nul autre avant lui. 

Angelo BAROVIER  XVe siècle. Probablement né à Trévise. Maître verrier de la Renaissance. Il travailla principalement le cristal et les émaux vitrifiés. Il inventa  le verre de couleur rubis transparent très recherché pour la fabrication de bijoux  . On lui doit un grande partie du développement de l’activité verrière locale. Cette entreprise familiale est toujours en activité sur l’ile de Murano

Domenico CANER vers 1430 – sur l’ile de Murano 

La dynastie TOFFOLO

Giacomo TOFFOLO- Florino TOFFOLO 

Concepteur du Vetro Magazine.  Il est l’un des plus grands Maître-verriers de Murano, l’un des artistes à l’inspiration la plus originale, l’un de ceux qui font évoluer l’art de la verrerie vénitienne. Ses vases, verres, bijoux, coupes, coupes bleues, coupes à fruits sont exposés à la galerie César Toffolo à Murano.


Quelques designers comtemporains  sur l’île de Murano



Silvano Signoretto – vases – miroirs – lustres. « Ses œuvres sont l’expression de la beauté à Murano ».

Massimiliano CALDARONE  - sculpture de verre – perles en verre de Murano

FeiToso di TOSO RENZO– graveur sur verre

Alfred BARBINI– lampes – vases – sculpture sur verre.


Voir nos lots proposés sur bidtween