Louis Valtat (1869-1952), a french artist

Discover Louis Valtat (1869-1952), a great artist of the 20th century, forerunner and eclectic, Master of the solids of colours but also sculptor.

Louis Valtat (1869-1952)

French artist


Louis Valtat is an independent and forerunner artist, trained at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris and at the Académie Julian, in which he meets many artists and befriended Albert André (1869-1954) and Pierre Blackwell (1867-1947). Louis Valtat is also acquainted with Edouard Vuillard (1868-1940) and the Nabis group who will also influence his work at the outset more fastidious.


Freelance artist


After his training, Louis Valtat, sick, stayed in Banyuls and Collioure where he met Aristide Maillol (1861-1944).  He will also stay in Spain as well as in Arcachon. As with the Tawny painters, Louis Valtat also found the influence of Van Gogh, Gauguin or Cézanne.

These expressive paintings, post impressionistic, with very vivid tones have accents of pre-fauvism, Louis Valtat is part of the transition between Impressionism and fauvism. He then settled in Agay and in the Midi, where he met Auguste Renoir (1841-1919) at Cagnes and Paul Signac (1863-1935) in Saint-Tropez.

Although very present on the French Riviera, it is nevertheless exhibited in Brussels in 1903, Dresden in 1906, as well as in Berlin, Budapest, Prague and Moscow in 1908.

After 1914, he settled in Normandy, which he particularly fondly then bought a property in Choiseul, in the Vallée de Chevreuse, in 1924.


Forerunner artist


Very quickly, Louis Valtat uses vivid colors and virulent contrasts and wields brushes with a vigorous touch.

From 1900, he attracted the gaze of the merchant Ambroise Vollard (1866-1939) who was to acquire almost all of his works for 10 years.

Louis Valtat is a precursor artist of the Fauvism, he participates in the exhibition of the fawns of the autumn Salon of 1905. After the seaside and the lake landscapes, recurring themes of his work, his garden as well as the flowers, the bouquets of flowers and the fruits he cultivates become the motifs of predilections of his paintings.

In 1907, at the autumn Salon, Louis Valtat exhibited ceramic works performed in the atelier of André Metthey (1871-1920), to be seen at the Petit Palais Museum in Paris.

Likewise, under the impulse of Auguste Renoir, he will try the sculpture, as attested by the bronze standing child of 1909, presented on Bidtween, by the auction house, Sequana.


"Happy painters have no history" used to say Louis Valtat which perhaps explains that he was long regarded as a "petty master" while this prolific and eclectic artist deserves his place alongside the tawny painters such as Vlaminck, Matisse, Derain, Dufy as a pioneer of fauvism in the history of art and has everything from a great artist of the twentieth century.

A (re) discover on Bidtween!

Louis Valtat (1869-1952), un artiste complet

Découvrez Louis Valtat (1869-1952), un grand artiste du XXème, précurseur et éclectique, maître des aplats de couleurs mais aussi sculpteur.

Louis Valtat (1869-1952)

Artiste peintre français


Louis Valtat est un artiste indépendant et précurseur, formé à l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Paris et à l’Académie Julian, dans laquelle il rencontre de nombreux artistes et se lie d’amitié avec Albert André (1869-1954) et Pierre Bonnard (1867-1947). Louis Valtat fait aussi connaissance d’Edouard Vuillard (1868-1940) et du groupe des Nabis qui influencera aussi son travail au départ plus pointilliste.


Artiste indépendant


Après sa formation, Louis Valtat, malade, séjourne à Banyuls et Collioure où il fait la connaissance d’Aristide Maillol (1861-1944).  Il fera aussi des séjours en Espagne ainsi qu’à Arcachon. Comme chez les peintres fauves, on retrouve aussi chez Louis Valtat l’influence de Eugène DelacroixVincent Van Gogh, Paul Gauguin ou Paul Cézanne.

Ces peintures expressives, post impressionnistes, aux tons très vifs ont des accents de pré-fauvisme, Louis Valtat s’inscrit dans la transition entre Impressionnisme et Fauvisme. Il s’établit ensuite à Agay et Anthéor dans le Midi, où il rencontre Auguste Renoir (1841-1919) à Cagnes et Paul Signac (1863-1935) à Saint-Tropez.

Bien que très présent sur la Côte d’Azur, il n’en est pas moins exposé à Bruxelles en 1903, Dresde en 1906, ainsi qu’à Berlin, Budapest, Prague et Moscou en 1908.

Après 1914, il s’installe en Normandie qu’il affectionne tout particulièrement puis achète une propriété à Choiseul, dans la Vallée de Chevreuse, en 1924.


Artiste Précurseur


Très vite, Louis Valtat utilise les couleurs vives et les contrastes virulents et manie les pinceaux avec une touche vigoureuse.

Dès 1900, il attire le regard du marchand Ambroise Vollard (1866-1939) qui va acquérir la quasi-totalité de ses oeuvres pendant 10 ans.

Louis Valtat est un artiste précurseur du Fauvisme au côté des plus grands artistes français, il participe à l’exposition des fauves du Salon d’Automne de 1905. Après le bord de mer et les paysages lacustres, thèmes récurrents de son oeuvre, son jardin ainsi que les fleurs, les bouquets de fleurs et les fruits qu’il cultive deviennent des motifs de prédilections de ses peintures.

En 1907, au Salon d’Automne, Louis Valtat expose des oeuvres en céramique exécutées dans l’atelier d’André Metthey (1871-1920), à voir au Musée du Petit Palais à Paris.

De même, sous l’impulsion d’Auguste Renoir, il s’essayera à la sculpture, comme l’atteste le bronze Enfant Debout de 1909, présenté sur Bidtween, par la maison de ventes aux enchères, Sequana.


« Les peintres heureux n’ont pas d’histoire » avait l’habitude de dire Louis Valtat ce qui explique peut-être qu’il a été longtemps considéré comme un « petit maître » alors que cet artiste, fécond et éclectique, mérite sa place à côté des peintres fauves tels que Maurice de Vlaminck, Henri Matisse, André Derain, Raoul Dufy, Albert Marquet, Marc Chagall en tant que pionnier du fauvisme dans l’histoire de l’art et a tout d’un grand artiste du XXème siècle.

A (re)découvrir sur Bidtween !