The most shocking artworks in art history

Bidtween makes you discover five of the main artworks that caused a scandal in the world of art.



While Facebook has just banned the photo of the Venus of Willendorf, palaeolithic statuette of almost 30 000 years representing a naked and voluptuous feminine figure, Bidtween makes you discover the 5 major artworks that caused a scandal in the world of art.



Art : politically correct ?


Art and argument : a tandem that doesn't only affect contemporary art. Indeed, artists have always, in sculpture or in paintings, tested the limits of ethics and politically correctness. Blasphemous, scandalous or uninteresting, art critics' terms did not fail for centuries to qualify daring artworks. But artistic scandal is an integral part of the creative process : some artworks that used to be considered as shocking are now described as masterpieces...


5 - "Bouquet of Tulips" by Jeff Koons


In fifth position is the most recent and still ongoing polemic : the tulips by Jeff Koons.


Jeff Koons thought he was doing a favour to France by offering this gigantic artwork "Bouquet of Tulips" of 33 tons, 12 metres high and 8 metres wide, that should have been installed soon before the Palais de Tokyo.


Yet, not everyone likes the initiative. In a published column in the newspaper Libération, personalities of the world of culture, artists, politicians, are rising up against this artwork. As in fact, the contemporary artist only gives his idea. The State will have to pay around 3,5 million euros...



4 - "Dirty Corner" by Anish Kapoor


Dirty Corner, the monumental sculpture by the contemporary artist Anish Kapoor is a steel horn with a declared sexual connotation. As it was exhibited at the Château de Versailles in 2015 during the temporary exhibition "Kapoor Versailles", that presents six artworks of the artist, the artwork is vandalised four times ! The installation has been baptised in the press as "queen's vagina", an expression the plastic artist assures he never used, even if he admits its "very sexual" connotation.




3 - The "Fontaine" by Marcel Duchamp


This is not an urinal... The "fontaine" by Marcel Duchamp is one of the most polemical artworks in art history. Indeed, this precursor, is a partisan of the artistic movement Ready Made. Exhibited in another context than its daily use, the object, here the urinal, takes a different meaning to be raised to the rank of art. Revolutionary, this artistic approach is now recognised as a flagship artwork in contemporary art and is exhibited at the Pompidou Centre.



2 - The "Olympia" by Edouard Manet


Painted in 1863 by Edouard Manet, the artwork Olympia was exhibited for the first time at the 1865 Show, creating a significant scandal. The canvas represents a prostitute who seems to come right from an oriental harem and who is about to receive a client announced by a bouquet. Apart from her nudity, the model (Victorine Meurent) shows undeniable insolence and provocation.


"Olympia" draws its inspiration from the Venus of Urbino by Titian. Ignoring the original model, the critique saw in Manet's version the representation of a courtesan. It is true that at the time, nudity is admissible only if it is in an exotic or mythological space. Edouard Manet has obviously been looking for scandal by representing a luxurious prostitute, that is now at the Musée d'Orsay.


1 - "L'origine du monde" by Gustave Courbet


The painting represents the reproductive organ of a naked woman laying down on a bed, with her legs spread through Courbet's realism. The artist never stopped revisiting female nude, sometimes in a pretty libertine style. But with "L'Origine du monde", Gustave Courbet allows himself an audacity that gives the artwork a power of fascination. The anatomic description of a female reproductive organ is not softened by any artifice.


Now exhibited at Orsay, "L'Origine du monde" has a place in the history of modern paintings, without stopping questioning about voyeurism.

Also, read : The best french exhibitions in 2018

Les oeuvres les plus scandaleuses de l'histoire de l'art

Bidtween vous propose de découvrir 5 œuvres d'art majeures qui ont fait scandale dans le monde de l'art.



Alors que facebook vient de censurer la photo de la Madone de Willendorf, statuette paléolithique de près de 30.000 ans représentant une figure féminine nue et plantureuse, Bidtween vous propose de découvrir 5 œuvres d'art majeures qui ont fait scandale dans le monde de l'art.



L'art : politiquement correct ?


L'art et la polémique : un tandem qui ne touche pas que l'art contemporain. En effet, depuis toujours les artistes, autant en sculpture qu'en peinture, ont testé les limites de l’éthique et du politiquement correct. Blasphématoire, scandaleuse ou inintéressante, les qualificatifs des critiques d'art et de leurs contemporains n'ont pas manqué depuis des siècles face à des œuvres osées. Mais le scandale artistique fait partie intégrante du processus créatif : certaines œuvres jugées choquantes sont aujourd'hui considérées comme des chefs-d'oeuvre...


5 - " Bouquet of Tulips" de Jeff Koons


En cinquième position, citons la polémique la plus récente et encore en cours : les tulipes de Jeff Koons.


Jeff Koons pensait faire une fleur à la France en lui offrant cette gigantesque oeuvre "Bouquet of Tulips" de 33 tonnes, 12 mètres de haut et 8 mètres de large, qui devait être prochainement installée devant le Palais de Tokyo


Or, l'initiative ne plaît pas à tout le monde. Dans une tribune publiée dans Libération,
 des personnalités du monde de la culture, des artistes, des politiques, s'insurgent contre l'arrivée de cette oeuvre. Car en fait, l'artiste contemporain ne fait don que de son idée. Il reviendra à l'Etat de régler une somme d'environ 3,5 millions d'euros...



4 - " Dirty Corner " d'Anish Kapoor


Dirty Corner, sculpture monumentale de l'artiste contemporain Anish Kapoor est une trompe d'acier à la connotation sexuelle affichée. Alors qu'elle est exposée au Château de Versailles en 2015 dans le cadre de l'exposition temporaire « Kapoor Versailles », qui présente six œuvres de l'artiste, l'oeuvre est vandalisée à quatre reprises ! L'installation a été baptisée dans la presse de "vagin de la reine", une formule que le plasticien affirme n'avoir jamais employée, même s'il reconnaît sa connotation "très sexuelle".




3 - La " Fontaine " de Marcel Duchamp


Ceci n'est pas un urinoir... La « fontaine » de Marcel Duchamp est une des œuvres les plus polémiques de l'histoire de l'art. En effet, ce précurseur, est un partisan du mouvement artistique du Ready Made, c'est-à-dire de l' « objet tout fait ». Exposé dans un autre contexte que son usage quotidien, l'objet, en l'occurrence ici l’urinoir, prend un autre sens pour être élevé au rang d'oeuvre d'art. Révolutionnaire, cette démarche artistique est aujourd'hui reconnue comme une oeuvre phare dans l'art contemporain et exposée au Centre Pompidou



2 - L' " Olympia " d'Edouard Manet


Peinte en 1863 par Edouard Manet, l'œuvre Olympia fut exposée pour la première fois au Salon de 1865, créant un scandale retentissant. La toile représente une prostituée semblant sortir tout droit d’un harem à l’orientale et s’apprêtant visiblement à recevoir un client qui s'annonce avec un bouquet. Outre sa nudité, le modèle (Victorine Meurent) affiche une insolence et une provocation indéniables.


Olympia s'inspire de la Vénus d'Urbin du Titien. Ignorant le modèle d'origine, la critique vit dans celui de Manet la représentation d'une courtisane. Il faut dire qu'au milieu du siècle, le nu est admissible s'il est situé dans un espace exotique ou mythologique. Edouard Manet a à l'évidence cherché le scandale en représentant une prostituée de luxe, et est aujourd'hui visible au Musée d'Orsay.


1 - " L'origine du monde " de Gustave Courbet


Le tableau représente le sexe d'une femme allongée nue sur un lit, les cuisses écartées avec le réalisme de Courbet. L'artiste n'a cessé de revisiter le nu féminin, parfois dans une veine franchement libertine. Mais avec « L'Origine du monde » Gustave Courbet s'autorise une audace qui donne à l'oeuvre un pouvoir de fascination. La description quasiment anatomique d'un sexe féminin n'est atténuée par aucun artifice.


Désormais présentée à Orsay, « L'Origine du monde » a aujourd'hui sa place dans l'histoire de la peinture moderne, sans pour autant cesser de poser la question du regard et du voyeurisme.

Lire aussi : Les expositions immanquables en 2018