The Great French furniture designers

Our furniture is constantly reinventing itself. And even though, nowadays, tables, beds and other comfortable armchairs often have Scandinavian accents, historical pieces of French design always seduce the pupils.

The Great French furniture designers


Our furniture is constantly reinventing itself. And even though, nowadays, tables, beds and other comfortable armchairs often have Scandinavian accents, historical pieces of French design always seduce the pupils. We propose to you to return to the great names of French design, men and women who have been able to revolutionize the interiors while democratizing access to furniture.


Le Corbusier (1887, La Chaux-de-Fonds, 1968, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin)


This is undoubtedly one of the most famous names in architecture, urban planning and French design. Switzerland of origin, Le Corbusier, born Charles-Edouard Jeanneret-Gris, is a naturalized French in 1930. It owes it a new concept of collective housing where the equipments are combined in one and only building and whose radiant city is a proud example. But he also designed pieces of furniture. Architecture and furniture work in concert, both complementing each other.


It was mainly in the 1920s that Le Corbusier, in collaboration with his cousin Pierre Jeanneret and his disciple Charlotte Perriand, conceived a whole range of furniture. Some of this furniture is still published by Cassina. Among the most iconic pieces of Le Corbusier's furniture are:


-The LC2 armchair, made of padded cushions and covered with leather, all resting on a tubular steel structure

-The lounge chair LC4, in the shape of swing to marry the body and made of chromed steel and leather or cowhide skin


Jean Prouvé (1901, Paris – 1984, Nancy)


He wanted to create a "work for all", modern houses and furniture accessible to as many people as possible. Jean proved is a French architect and designer who first formed the ironworks. The steel sheet naturally becomes one of these preferred materials. It makes many metal elements for buildings, such as stair ramps or elevator protections. 


Jean Prouvé also produces furniture in series thanks to industrial machines. One example is the Compas office, created in the years 50, whose metal foot reminds the narrow and pointed legs of the measuring instrument and which is one of the emblematic forms of the designer. The Antony beds with their sheet metal structure are also representative of his work. 


Charlotte Perriand (1903, Paris – 1999, Paris)


A Disciple of Le Corbusier and a major figure in the design of the years 50, Charlotte Perriand invented a style as poetic as minimalist, especially inherited from her stays in Japan. It has its sights on wood, paper, straw... Charlotte Perriand is the creator of many pieces of always iconic design furniture, including:


-Chair Ombra Tokyo, made of a single piece molded in curved plywood. It seems to bend like an origami paper in a simple and purified style.

-Petalo Low tables: At the number of 5, they all offer a different coloured tray and can retract each other to open in a flower with triangular and rounded petals.


Andrée Putman (1925, Paris – 2013, Paris)


It is one of the great names of interior design and architecture. Andrée Putman, a true ambassador of luxury and French chic, has made herself known all over the world from New York to Hong Kong, for her sober and minimalist conception of design. Andrée Putman owes her international reputation first to her noted intervention at the Morgans Hotel in New York, where she imagines a geometric bathroom dominated by a black and white checkerboard tile. It is also who draws the office of Jack Lang in 1982, while furniture of wood purified, geometric, without artifice...


She also talks about her design of interior architecture through the development of many hotels, restaurants, tea rooms and luxury boutiques around the world. It is also André Putman who, the first, popularized the open and ventilated "loft" type of design.


Pierre Paulin (1927, Paris – 2009, Montpellier)


His creations are exhibited in museums all over the world: at the MoMA in New York, the Pompidou Centre and the Museum of Decorative Arts in Paris, at the Victoria Art Museum in London... And we no longer count the number of retrospectives, exhibitions and books that explore the work of French designer Pierre Paulin. The armchairs and chairs he imagines, with organic and colorful shapes, whose cushions are covered with a cover in stretch fabrics, are always as popular. Let's mention some of the iconic seats signed by Pierre Paulin:


-Mushroom

-Tongue Chair

-Ribbon Chair

-Orange Slice Chair


Philippe Starck (1949, Paris)


Let's finish with the best known contemporary French designers: Philippe Stark. Since the years 80, he has revolutionized design codes, bringing about a new dimension that is both ecological and democratic. He collaborates with major publishers, such as Kartell, Alessi and Vitra. Some of the most popular pieces of furniture include:


-Louis Ghost Armchair, a colorful and transparent plastic chair that combines the classicism of a Louis XV armchair with the modernity of plastic.

-The armchair Mi Ming-Xo: It is times, it is the ancestral China that is summoned, in a polycarbonate armchair all in curves and transparency.

-The armchair Costes: a seat that combines the elegance of mahogany and leather with the robustness of lacquered steel. 


Notice to amateurs and collectors: Some creations signed by these great French design names are regularly republished. And original copies do not fail to fuel auctions and online shops.

Les grands designers français de mobilier

Notre mobilier se réinvente sans cesse.

Qui sont les grands designers de mobilier français ?


Notre mobilier se réinvente sans cesse. Et même si, de nos jours, tables, lits et autres fauteuils confortables ont souvent des accents scandinaves, des pièces historiques du design français séduisent toujours les pupilles. Nous vous proposons de revenir sur les grands noms du design français, des hommes et des femmes qui ont su révolutionner les intérieurs tout en démocratisant l’accès au mobilier.


Le Corbusier (1887, La Chaux-de-Fonds, 1968, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin)


C’est sans doute l’un des noms les plus réputés de l’architecture, de l’urbanisme et du design à la française. Suisse d’origine, Le Corbusier, né Charles-Edouard Jeanneret-Gris, est naturalisé Français en 1930. On lui doit un nouveau concept de logements collectifs où les équipements sont réunis en un seul et unique bâtiment et dont la Cité Radieuse est un fier exemple. Mais il a également conçu des pièces de mobilier. Architecture et mobilier fonctionnent en effet de concert, l’une et l’autre se complétant.

C’est essentiellement dans les années 20 que Le Corbusier, en collaboration avec son cousin Pierre Jeanneret et sa disciple Charlotte Perriand, conçoit toute une gamme de mobilier. Certains de ces meubles sont toujours édités par Cassina. Parmi les meubles les plus iconiques du Corbusier figurent notamment :

-Le fauteuil LC2, fait de coussins rembourrés et recouverts de cuir, le tout reposant sur une structure tubulaire en acier

-La chaise lounge LC4, en forme de balancelle pour épouser le corps et fabriquée en acier chromé et cuir ou peau de vache


Jean Prouvé (1901, Paris – 1984, Nancy)


Lui voulait créer une « œuvre pour tous », des maisons et du mobilier modernes accessibles au plus grand nombre. Jean Prouvé est un architecte et designer français qui s’est d’abord formé à la ferronnerie. La tôle d’acier devient naturellement un de ces matériaux de prédilection. Il réalise de nombreux éléments en métal pour des bâtiments, tels que des rampes d’escalier ou des protections d’ascenseur. 

Jean Prouvé fait également produire du mobilier en série grâce aux machines industrielles. On peut citer notamment le Bureau Compas, créé dans les années 50, dont le pied métallique rappelle les jambes étroites et pointues de l’instrument de mesure et qui est une des formes emblématiques du designer. Les lits Antony avec leur structure en tôle sont également représentatifs de son œuvre. 


Charlotte Perriand (1903, Paris – 1999, Paris)


Disciple du Corbusier et figure majeure du design des années 50, Charlotte Perriand invente un style aussi poétique que minimaliste, hérité notamment de ses séjours au Japon. Elle porte son dévolu sur le bois, le papier, la paille… Charlotte Perriand est la créatrice de nombreuses pièces de mobilier design toujours iconiques, dont :

-Chaise Ombra Tokyo, faite d’une seule pièce moulée en contreplaqué cintré. Elle semble se plier comme un papier d’origami dans un style simple et épuré.

-Les tables basses Petalo : au nombre de 5, elles offrent toutes un plateau de couleur différente et peuvent s’escamoter les unes dans les autres pour s’ouvrir ensuite en une fleur aux pétales triangulaires et arrondis.


Andrée Putman (1925, Paris – 2013, Paris)


C’est un des grands noms du design et de l’architecture d’intérieur. Andrée Putman, véritable ambassadrice du luxe et du chic à la française, s’est fait connaître à travers le monde entier, de New York à Hong Kong, pour sa conception sobre et minimaliste du design. Andrée Putman doit d’abord sa réputation internationale à son intervention remarquée à l’Hôtel Morgans, à New York, pour lequel elle imagine une salle de bains géométrique dominée par un carrelage en damier noir et blanc. C’est elle aussi qui dessine le bureau de Jack Lang en 1982, tout en meubles de bois épurés, géométriques, sans artifice…

Elle fait aussi parler sa conception de l’architecture d’intérieur à travers l’aménagement de nombreux hôtels, restaurants, salons de thé et boutiques de luxe à travers le monde. C’est André Putman également qui, la première, popularise l’aménagement décloisonné et aéré type « loft ».


Pierre Paulin (1927, Paris – 2009, Montpellier)


Ses créations sont exposées dans les musées du monde entier : au MoMA de New York, au centre Pompidou et au Musée des arts décoratifs de Paris, au Victoria Art Museum de Londres… Et on ne compte plus le nombre de rétrospectives, d’expositions et de livres qui explorent l’œuvre du designer français Pierre Paulin. Les fauteuils et chaises qu’il imagine, aux formes organiques et colorées, dont les coussins sont recouverts d’une housse en tissus extensible, sont toujours aussi populaires. Citons quelques-uns des sièges iconiques signés Pierre Paulin :

-Mushroom

-Tongue Chair

-Ribbon Chair

-Orange Slice Chair

Philippe Starck (1949, Paris)


Finissons avec le plus connu des designers français contemporains : Philippe Stark. Depuis les années 80, il révolutionne les codes du design, faisant entrer une nouvelle dimension à la fois écologique et démocratique. Il collabore avec de grands éditeurs, tels que Kartell, Alessi ou Vitra. Parmi ces pièces de mobiliers les plus populaires, citons :

-Le fauteuil Louis Ghost, une chaise en plastique coloré et transparent qui associe le classicisme d’un fauteuil Louis XV à la modernité du plastique.

-Le fauteuil Mi Ming-Xo : c’est fois, c’est la Chine ancestrale qui est convoquée, dans un fauteuil en polycarbonate tout en courbes et transparence.

-Le fauteuil Costes : un siège qui marie l’élégance de l’acajou et du cuir à la robustesse de l’acier laqué. 

Avis aux amateurs et aux collectionneurs : certaines créations signées par ces grands noms du design français sont régulièrement rééditées. Et des exemplaires originaux ne manquent pas d’alimenter ventes aux enchères et boutiques en ligne.