The best french exhibitions in 2018

What are the must-see exhibitions in 2018 ?


If 2017 ended on the opening of a remarquable exhibition dedicated to César at the Pompidou Center, 2018 is going to be filled with artistic events. What are the must-see exhibitions in 2018 ?


Zao Wou-ki : finally the retrospective ! 


After 2003, no big exhibition had paid tribute to the Chinese artist. The Modern Art Museum of Paris is going to please us from the 1st of June with the exhibition « Zao Wou Ki : Space is silence ». Get lost among the giant paintings of the Chinese artist, living in Paris, and influenced by the intensity of american artworks. 


Eugène Delacroix at the Louvre 


The Louvre and the Metropolitan Museum of Art of New York are gathering more than 180 paintings from the painter to be discovered on the 19th of March. Admire the masterpieces such as La Liberté guidant le peuple as much as his more mysterious artworks that will allow you to enjoy the evolution of Eugène Delacroix’s style.


The Louvre Museum


 

Michael Jackson inspires artists


If Thriller or Billie Jean were a whole part of your life, Michael Jackson also influenced art. Andy Warhol or David LaChapelle have represented this vibrant artist. The artworks will be waiting for you at the Grand Palais, where the King of Pop will be reigning from the 23rd November 2018 with the exhibition « Michael Jackson, art icon ». 


An Illuminating Path -1998 - ours of the Artist ©David LaChapelle


Jewelleries : these particular artworks 

 



After the exhibition « Médusa, jewelleries and taboos » in 2017 at the Modern Art Museum in Paris, The Decorative Arts will be presenting a jewelleries lot. The museum  displays the Diane Venet's Collection, the artist Bernar Venet’s wife. Modern and contemporary artists such as Alexander Calder, Picasso or Jeff Koons will punctuate your visit from the 7th of March to the 8th of July.



Salvador Dalí, Broche Cuillère avec montre-peigne, 1957. CollectDiane Venet © Philippe Servent, Paris




On Alfons Mucha’s footsteps


He is inevitably one of the greatest artists from the New Art next to Emile Gallé or Victor Horta. Alfons Mucha is famous for his posters, but his talent as an illustrator and a painter will also be highlighted on the 12th of September at the Musée du Luxembourg.


Alfons Mucha - F. Champenois, Publisher - lithography - 1897



Basquiat : auction record in 2017, exhibition in 2018


You couldn’t afford Basquiat’s artwork on auction ? Don’t worry, the Fondation Louis Vuitton organises an exhibition about the artist from the 3rd of October. At the same time, an exhibition dedicated to Egon Schiele will also start.


Jean-Michel Basquiat In Italian , 1983

Acrylic, oil pastel, marker and assembly on canvas

mounted on a wooden frame 225 x 203 cm

The Brant Foundation


Egon Schiele Selbstbildnis mit Lampionfrüchten, 1912.

Oil and wood tempera 32.2 x 39.8 cm

  Leopold Museum, Vienne Inv. 454 © photografie

 Leopold Museum, Wien


Cross the parisian borders :  Marcel Duchamp in Rouen


Did you know that Marcel Duchamp was from Rouen ? Marked by this revolutionary artist gone 50 years ago, the Musée des Beaux-Arts of Rouen is going to organise an exhibition about his career. His most famous ready-made - Fontaine et Roue de Bicyclette -  are part of this exhibition to discover between the 15th of June and the 24th of September. 


Fontaine - Marcel Duchamp - 1917

Les expositions immanquables en 2018

Quelles sont les expositions à ne pas manquer en 2018 ?


Si l’année 2017 se conclue sur l’ouverture d’une remarquable exposition consacrée à César au Centre Pompidou, 2018 s’annonce riche en événements artistiques. Quelles sont les expositions à ne pas manquer en 2018 ?



Zao Wou-ki : enfin la retrospective ! 


Depuis 2003, aucune exposition d’envergure n’a rendu hommage à l’artiste chinois. Le Musée d’Art Moderne de la ville de Paris répond à cette attente dès le 1er juin avec l’exposition « Zao Wou Ki : L’espace est silence ». Perdez-vous dans les peintures grand format de cet artiste chinois, vivant à Paris, influencé par la vivacité des oeuvres américaines. 


Eugène Delacroix au Louvre 


Le Louvre et le Metropolitan Museum of Art de New York rassemblent plus de 180 toiles du peintre à partir du 19 mars. Admirez les chefs-d’oeuvres comme La Liberté guidant le peuple autant que ses oeuvres plus mystérieuses qui vous permettront d‘apprécier l’évolution du style d’Eugène Delacroix.



expositions 2018Le Louvre


Découvrez le clip étonnant de Beyoncé et Jay-Z tourné au Louvre : 

Michael Jackson inspire les artistes


Si Thriller ou Billie Jean ont rythmé certains moments de votre vie, Michael Jackson a aussi influencé le monde de l’art. Andy Warhol ou David LaChapelle ont représenté cet artiste haut en couleurs. Des oeuvres à retrouver au Grand Palais, où trône le Roi de la Pop à partir du 23 novembre 2018 avec l’exposition « Michael Jackson, icône de l’art ». 


exposition Michael Jackson 2018 David Lachapelle

An Illuminating Path -1998 - ours of the Artist ©David LaChapelle



Les bijoux, ces oeuvres d’art 





Après l’exposition « Médusa, bijoux et tabous » de 2017 au Musée d’Art Moderne de Paris, c’est au tour des Arts Décoratifs de présenter un ensemble de bijoux. Le musée propose la collection de Diane Venet, épouse de l’artiste Bernar Venet. Les  grands noms de l’art moderne et contemporain comme Alexander Calder, Picasso ou Jeff Koons ponctueront votre visite du 7 mars au 8 juillet.



Salvador Dalí, Broche Cuillère avec montre-peigne, 1957. Collection Diane Venet © Philippe Servent, Paris





Sur les pas d’Alfons Mucha


On le compte parmi les grands noms de l’Art Nouveau aux cotés d’Emile Gallé ou de Victor Horta. Alfons Mucha est célèbre pour ses affiches, mais ses talents d’illustrateur et de peintre seront également mis à l’honneur le 12 septembre au Musée du Luxembourg.


Alfons Mucha exposition 2018

Alfons Mucha - F. Champenois Imprimeur-Éditeur - lithographie - 1897



Basquiat : records d’enchères en 2017, exposition en 2018

Vous n'avez pas pu vous offrir une oeuvre de Basquiat aux enchères ? Rassurez vous, la Fondation Louis Vuitton organise une exposition sur l’artiste à partir du 3 octobre. Date qui inaugure aussi celle consacrée à Egon Schiele.


Basquiat exposition 2018 Fondation Vuitton

Jean-Michel Basquiat In Italian , 1983

Acrylique, pastel gras, marqueur et assemblage sur toile

montée sur chassis en bois croisés 225 x 203 cm

The Brant Foundation




Egon Schiele exposition 2018 Fondation Vuitton

Egon Schiele Selbstbildnis mit Lampionfrüchten 

,1912  Huile et détrempe sur bois 32.2 x 39.8 cm

  Leopold Museum, Vienne Inv. 454 © photografie

 Leopold Museum, Wien


Dépassez les frontières parisiennes :  Marcel Duchamp à Rouen


Saviez-vous que Marcel Duchamp était originaire de Rouen ? Marquée par cet artiste révolutionnaire disparu il y a 50 ans, le Musée des Beaux-Arts de la ville prévoit une exposition retraçant sa carrière. Ses plus célèbres ready-made - Fontaine et Roue de Bicyclette -  font partie de cette exposition à voir entre le 15 juin et le 24 septembre. 


Marcel Duchamp exposition Rouen 2018

Fontaine - Marcel Duchamp - 1917