Eames Lounge Armchair: a flagship design piece

Because it has revolutionized the history of furniture, the armchair signed by Charles and Ray Eames is today still an icon of design. With its footrest, it is part of this furniture that is regularly crossed in chic and trendy interiors.


  Because it has revolutionized the history of furniture, the armchair signed by Charles and Ray Eames is today still an icon of design. With its footrest, it is part of this furniture that one meets regularly in chic and trendy interiors and of which one does not get tired. 


 The "Eames Long Chair & Ottoman" is also featured in many museums around the world. Back on this emblematic armchair of the design of the years 50, a piece of furniture always published and of which you can find authentic and certified versions in our sales.


CHARLES and RAY EAMES: a mythical COUPLE of designers


At the origin of this armchair is a couple of American designers, Charles and Ray Eames. As soon as they were married in 41, the two young people worked hand in hand, motivated by the same inspiration: to make accessible to as many comfortable pieces of furniture. 


  


  From 1949, they explored the possibilities offered by new materials and unprecedented manufacturing techniques. From their research comes a chair on which we are still many to sit today: "Eames Plastic Chair". It is originally made of a fiberglass-moulded hull. Solid and aesthetic, reproducible by mass, it is put on sale from 1950 by an American furniture manufacturer: Herman Miller.


Chairs and armchairs signed by Charles and Ray Eames perfectly reflect their vision of design. Comfortable, aesthetic and functional: This is what they manage to assemble in creations destined for industrial production.


The couple has durably marked the history of design. The eameses are always a reference and their works are represented in multiple museums. Their pieces of furniture are still being edited, by Herman Miller in the United States and by Vitra in Europe and the Middle East.


EAMES LOUNGE CHAIR & OTTOMAN


History of an iconic armchair


Its official name is "Eames Lounge (670)" and "Ottoman (671)". This armchair with a footrest was marketed in 1956 by Herman Miller in the United States. This is the first creation imagined by Charles and Ray Eames that the couple destined for large-scale production. This is one of the reasons why the term "industrial design" is used to characterize the furniture of that period.


The seat is inspired by the French and English club armchairs, which appeared at the beginning of the 20th century. These furnitures are distinguished by their wide dimensions and their comfortable leather seating, as well as by relatively enveloping armrests. "Eames Long Chair" revisits this European concept, combining the comfort of the Club armchair with new materials and modern manufacturing techniques.


The success of the Eames armchair is immediate, propelled in particular by a passage of the couple and its furniture on the NBC channel. Through the decades, it is always so timeless.


Brief technical description


The armchair designed by Charles and Ray Eames, as well as his footrest, are both made of a molded shell of rosewood plywood. This sturdy and innovative structure is adorned with elegant and comfortable cushions of feathers and leather. The seat is inclined, so as to relieve back and spine. No mechanism can adjust this inclination. The footrest still brings comfort. Each of the rooms is supported by a chrome-plated, 5-pointed frame for the armchair, 4 for the Ottoman.


A piece of furniture still and always edited


The company Herman Miller always produces Eames armchairs. In Europe, Vitra has been licensed for 1984 and has the power to draw copies of the famous furniture. In the years 60-70, other professionals sold Eames armchairs, including the French International furniture distributor and the Italian ICF.


namely that the newer models have larger dimensions than the original, so as to adapt to the current morphology. They are also available in different colors and materials, whether at the level of wood, leather, base, etc.


The price of an Eames armchair


Vitra offers new Eames armchairs from about 4 500-5 000 €. For the armchair and its footrest, new also, the prices start around 6 800 €. More often than not, older versions are available at more affordable prices, from 10 to 50% less expensive, depending on the state of storage of the furniture, its materials and the date of the model's edition.


Like all the pieces that have marked the history of design, the Eames armchair is often imitated and counterfeited. On our website, professionals certify each of the pieces that are offered to you for sale, so that you have the guarantee to buy an authentic piece of furniture.


By China your furniture on our site, you will have the chance to find the famous "Eames Lounge Chair" with its matching ottoman, at a negotiable price. This piece of collectible, highly inescapable, will easily find its place in your interior. And you can comfortably sit in this legendary design chair.

Le fauteuil Lounge signé Eames : une pièce phare du design

Parce qu’il a révolutionné l’histoire du mobilier, le fauteuil signé Charles et Ray Eames est aujourd’hui encore une icône du design. Avec son repose-pied, il fait partie de ces meubles que l’on croise régulièrement dans les intérieurs chics et branchés.

  


  Parce qu’il a révolutionné l’histoire du mobilier, le fauteuil signé Charles et Ray Eames est aujourd’hui encore une icône du design. Avec son repose-pied, il fait partie de ces meubles que l’on croise régulièrement dans les intérieurs chics et branchés et dont on ne se lasse pas. 

 Le « Eames Long Chaire & Ottoman » est également présenté dans de nombreux musées du monde. Retour sur ce fauteuil emblématique du design des années 50, un meuble toujours édité et dont vous pourrez trouver des versions authentiques et certifiées dans nos ventes.




CHARLES ET RAY EAMES : UN COUPLE MYTHIQUE DE DESIGNERS



  A l’origine de ce fauteuil se trouve un couple de designers américains, Charles et Ray Eames. Dès leur mariage en 41, les deux jeunes gens travaillent main dans la main, motivés par une même inspiration : celle de rendre accessibles au plus grand nombre des pièces confortables de mobilier. 

  

  Dès 1949, ils explorent les possibilités qu’offrent de nouveaux matériaux et des techniques inédites de fabrication. De leurs recherches naît une chaise sur laquelle nous sommes encore nombreux à nous asseoir aujourd’hui : « Eames Plastic Chair ». A l’origine, elle est constituée d’une coque moulée en fibre de verre. Solide et esthétique, reproductible en masse, elle est mise en vente dès 1950 par un fabricant de meubles américain : Herman Miller.


  Chaises et fauteuils signés Charles et Ray Eames traduisent parfaitement leur vision du design. Confortable, esthétique et fonctionnel : voilà ce qu’ils parviennent à réunir dans des créations destinées à la production industrielle.


 Le couple a durablement marqué l’histoire du design. Les Eames sont toujours une référence et leurs œuvres sont représentées dans de multiples musées. Leurs pièces de mobilier sont toujours éditées, par Herman Miller aux Etats-Unis et par Vitra en Europe et au Moyen-Orient.




EAMES LOUNGE CHAIR & OTTOMAN

 

Histoire d’un fauteuil iconique


    Son nom officiel est « Eames Lounge (670) » et « Ottoman (671) ». Ce fauteuil associé à un repose-pied a été commercialisé en 1956 par Herman Miller, aux Etats-Unis. C’est la première création imaginée par Charles et Ray Eames que le couple destine à la production à grande échelle. C’est une des raisons pour lesquels on utilise l’expression « design industriel » pour caractériser le mobilier de cette époque.


  Le siège s’inspire des fauteuils clubs français et anglais, apparus au début du 20e siècle. Ces meubles se distinguent alors par leurs larges dimensions et leur assise en cuir confortable, ainsi que par des accoudoirs relativement enveloppants. « Eames Long Chair » revisite ce concept européen, associant le confort du fauteuil Club à de nouveaux matériaux et à des techniques de fabrication modernes.


 Le succès du fauteuil Eames est immédiat, propulsé notamment par un passage du couple et de son meuble sur la chaîne NBC. Traversant les décennies, il est toujours aussi indémodable.


Bref descriptif technique


  Le fauteuil imaginé par Charles et Ray Eames, tout comme son repose-pied, sont tout deux faits d’une coque moulée de bois contreplaqué de palissandre. Cette structure solide et innovante est garnie de coussins de plumes et de cuir, élégants et confortables. Le siège est incliné, de manière à soulager dos et colonne vertébrale. Aucun mécanisme ne permet de régler cette inclinaison. Le repose-pied apporte encore du confort. Chacune des pièces est supportée par un piètement chromé, à 5 branches pour le fauteuil, 4 pour l’ottoman.


Un meuble encore et toujours édité


  La société Herman Miller produit toujours des fauteuils Eames. En Europe, Vitra bénéficie depuis 1984 d’une licence et est habilité à tirer des exemplaires du célèbre meuble. Dans les années 60-70, d’autres professionnels ont vendu des fauteuils Eames, notamment le distributeur français Mobilier International et l’italien ICF.


  A savoir que les modèles les plus récents ont des dimensions plus larges que l’original, de manière à s’adapter aux morphologies actuelles. Ils sont également disponibles en différentes couleurs et matériaux, que ce soit au niveau du bois, du cuir, du piètement, etc.


Le prix d’un fauteuil Eames


  Vitra propose des fauteuils Eames neufs à partir de 4 500-5 000 € environ. Pour le fauteuil et son repose-pied, neufs également, les prix débutent autour de 6 800 €. Le plus souvent, les versions anciennes sont disponibles à des prix plus abordables, de 10 à 50 % moins chers, selon l’état de conservation du meuble, ses matériaux et la date d’édition du modèle.


  Comme toutes les pièces qui ont marqué l’histoire du design, le fauteuil Eames est souvent imité et contrefait. Sur notre site, des professionnels certifient chacune des pièces qui vous sont proposées à la vente, de manière à ce que vous ayez la garantie d’acheter un meuble authentique.




  En chinant votre mobilier sur notre site, vous aurez la chance de trouver le fameux « Eames Lounge Chair » avec son ottoman assorti et ce, à un prix négociable. Cette pièce de collection, hautement incontournable, trouvera aisément sa place dans votre intérieur. Et vous pourrez à votre tour vous installer confortablement dans ce fauteuil design mythique.