This week: second hand trade and pig at the Fair of Chatou !

A beautiful idea of exit for week, the Fair of Chatou is the meeting of the season for all the amateurs of beautiful things. Settled on the island of the Impressionists since 1970, it is the oldest fair in antiques of France. 


A story...of pigs! 


     We know the French traditions associated with the delicatessen and particularly with the good ham of all our regions! In the Middle Ages the fair of Chatou was the Fair in saltings(salt meats). The pork butchers came from whole France to sell their meats on the eve of Easter. The fair took place then around Notre-Dame where the commercial activity was prosperous.



But October 13th, 1131, unusual story in Paris. In streets, as usual, rave numerous pigs. They clean the streets of their filth. One of them throws itself under a horse making the rider fall. The man dies. Unfortunately it is Philippe, elder son and heir of king Louis VI Le Gros who is then going to proclaim a royal edict forbidding from now on the rambling of pigs. 


  In the middle of the XIXth, the Fair settles down Boulevard Richard-Lenoir for 100 years and it is now a big fair in the scrap,the gingerbread and hams.

  It is only in 1970 when the Fair settles down to Chatou, on the charming island of the Impressionists which twice a year, welcomes traders and customers, in March and September. 


What will you find there ? 


Everything! From the most beautiful antiquity to the wicker basket! And it is what makes the happiness of all ! We come to mock a beautiful chest of drawers Louis XV as armchairs in rattan, jewels, linen of our grandmothers, lamps in industrial style , vintage glasses from Baccarat!


And of course, a break is imperative to taste a good French-style meal : wine, oysters, foie gras, cassoulet or French fries and of course the roasted suckling pig on the spot!



Saint Roch, the patron saint of the secondhand goods dealers 


Saint Roch is known for the XIVth century as the boss of the secondhand goods dealers. In 2018, the tradition of the price thrown 100 years ago is reborn thanks to the SNCAO-GA. This price rewards personalities of the world of the culture generally who by their actions value the Antiquity and the Secondhand trade. In March, 2018, it is the journalist and presenter Jean-Pierre Pernault who receives him.


And this year the heroes of your childhood!  


Find the heroes of your youth, those who you loved when you were small and take your children to discover them. Travel the exhibition organized by Christophe Mourthé around Teddy bear, Casimir, Thierry la Fronde and Aglae and Sidonie! 


Then who goes there this week? Until October 7th. 


From 10 am till 7 pm.


Entry for 6 euros, free for least than 15 years.

La sortie de la semaine : Brocante et cochon à la Foire de Chatou !

Le rendez-vous immanquable de la saison pour les amateurs d'antiquités et de cochon !


Une belle idée de sortie pour la semaine, la Foire de Chatou est le rendez-vous de la saison pour tous les amateurs de belles choses. Installée sur l’île des Impressionnistes depuis 1970, elle est la plus ancienne foire aux antiquités de France. 


Une histoire…de cochons ! 


On connait les traditions françaises associées à la charcuterie et particulièrement au bon jambon de toutes nos régions ! Au Moyen-Âge la foire de Chatou était la Foire aux salaisons. Les charcutiers venaient de la France entière pour vendre leurs viandes à la veille de Pâques. La foire se déroulait alors autour de Notre-Dame où l'activité commerciale était florissante. 



Mais le 13 octobre 1131, banal fait divers à Paris. Dans les rues, comme à l'accoutumée, divaguent de nombreux cochons. Ils nettoient les rues de leurs immondices. L’un d’eux se jette sous un cheval faisant choir le cavalier qui se tue. Malheureusement il s’agit de  Philippe, fils aîné et héritier du roi Louis VI le Gros qui va alors proclamer un édit royal interdisant désormais la divagation des cochons ce qui compromet l'organisation de la Foire. 

  Au milieu du XIXe, la Foire s’installe Boulevard Richard-Lenoir pour 100 ans et c’est maintenant une grande foire à la ferraille, aux pains d’épices et aux jambons.


 Ce n’est qu’ en 1970 que la Foire s'installe à Chatou, sur la ravissante île des Impressionnistes qui deux fois par an, accueille marchands et clients ,en mars et septembre. 


Qu’y trouve t’on ?


 De tout ! De la plus belle antiquité au panier en osier ! Et c’est ce qui fait le bonheur de tous ! On vient y chiner une belle commode Louis XV comme des fauteuils en rotin, des bijoux anciens, du linge de nos grands-mères, des lampes trépieds indus’, des verres Baccarat vintage !


Et bien sûr, une pause s’impose pour déguster un bon repas terroir à la française : vin, huîtres, foie gras, cassoulet ou frites et bien entendu du cochon de lait rôti sur place !


Saint Roch, le saint patron des brocanteurs 


Saint Roch est connu depuis le XIVe siècle comme le patron des brocanteurs. En 2018, la tradition du prix lancée il y a 100 ans renait grâce au SNCAO-GA. Ce prix récompense des personnalités du monde de la culture en général qui par leurs actions valorisent l’Antiquité et la Brocante. En mars 2018, c’est le journaliste et présentateur Jean-Pierre Pernault qui le reçoit. 


Et cette année…les héros de votre enfance !  


Retrouvez les héros de votre jeunesse, ceux que vous aimiez lorsque vous étiez petits et emmenez vos enfants les découvrir. Parcourez l'exposition organisée par Christophe Mourthé autour de  Nounours, Casimir, Thierry la Fronde et Aglae et Sidonie ! 


Alors qui y va cette semaine ? Jusqu’au 7 octobre. 

De 10h à 19h.

Entrée à 6 euros, gratuit pour les moins de 15 ans. 


Vidéo : Les minis midis films