To invest in contemporary art ? Two Erro's artworks on auction on Bidtween


You have always been dreaming about buying an artwork from a popular and well-known contemporary artist The two Erro's silkscreen prints presented for auction on Bidtween by the auction house Yellow Peacock gives you a chance for that. Cheaper than a painting, a print is an interesting investment and an easy way to start a collection.  


Print, engraving, lithography, silkscreen…?


Generically speaking, «painting» gathers a lot of various techniques : oil, acrylics, tempera, aerosol, etc...


Such as for painting, print uses several methods. There are about twenty different ways to create an image; let's focus on some of them. 


Relief prints 

Woodcut

Woodcut is an ancestral art consisting in hollowing out the parts that will remain white, the part in relief will then be inked. Thus we get a negative : this is the ink pad system. This technique was invented in the Middle-Age, just a bit before the printing press.


On the contrary, cut engraving consists in chiseling or drypoint etching grooves to put a thick ink in it. The slab is then pressed on the paper, showing the lines previously chiseled. This is a positive. Rembrandt was an expert in this technique. 



Flat printing 


Lithography and silkscreen print are not really engravings as there is no set of relief. But by nature they are prints as it is possible to produce a printed image through a mould. Daumier or Toulouse-Lautrec had been using this method for a long time. 


Lithography recreates the drawn image on a limestone whereas silkscreen print is a printing method using stencil. Contemporary artists love this process. 



The benefits of buying prints


Thanks to prints, artists can issue an artwork several times. Any art lover can also benefit from it as the multiple artwork is more attractive. However, the print popularity varies according to the artist : a Picasso printing can reach several millions.


The number of printed copies can also change the value : if an average printing can issue a hundred copies, a collection of 25 prints will be more sought after, and even more if the artwork is numbered and signed by the artist. 



Contemporary artists and silk-screen printing

 

Copying images became easier in the XXth century and even turned into an industrial method. Some artists from the 1960's took advantage of this advertising technique to contest the growing consumer society : you may have recognised the definition of the Pop Art movement. Andy Warhol and Roy Lichtenstein set themselves appart by using the advertising but also the image printing technique.


The Icelander artist Erro, as a contemporary of these two printing virtuosos, has been influenced by them


lithographie erro enchères

Erro's lithography, number 11/75, 1997, signed at the bottom right. Estimated 300-500€


Two Erro's artworks on auction 

Bidtween gives you the opportunity to purchase two numbered and signed silkscreen prints by Erro. A contemporary artist who displayed his artwork at the Perrotin gallery in New-York this year, gave 66 of them to the Centre Pompidou. The Beaux-Arts museum in Lyon also made a retrospective of his work in 2014.


Influenced by the events of May 1968, Erro attaches importance to the Vietnam War, that he describes with lots of irony in his artworks. He shaped his art by meeting artists like Man Ray, Duchamp or Miro. But Erro can easily be linked to the Pop Art movement, as his artworks are full of images from the popular culture. 


Andy Warhol watches Thomas Dellert's artwork, 1980, Bruno Erhs


However, Erro goes further than pop-artists by involving the most diverse worldwide cultures in his work. Actually, he is considered as the founder of the «narrative figuration», a movement praising the image as an engaged speech.


Trough his collages, he makes despot figures stand alongside Walt Disney characters. On his other artworks, the Japanese culture is mixed with American comics, and sometimes human and mechanics seem to be one. 


Lithographie Erro enchères

Erro's lithography, number 67/199, 2001, signed at the bottom right. Estimated 300-500€

Investir dans l’art contemporain ? Deux oeuvres d’Erro aux enchères sur Bidtween

Vous rêviez d’acquérir une oeuvre d’un artiste contemporain reconnu et côté ? Les deux sérigraphies d’Erro proposée aux enchères vous en donnent l'occasion. Moins onéreuse qu’une toile, l’estampe est une façon accessible pour débuter une collection.


Vous rêviez d’acquérir une oeuvre d’un artiste contemporain reconnu et côtéLes deux sérigraphies d’Erro présentées aux enchères sur Bidtween par la maison de ventes Yellow Peacock vous en donnent l’occasion. Moins onéreuse qu’une toile, l’estampe est un bon investissement et une façon accessible pour débuter une collection.  


Estampe, gravure, lithographie, sérigraphie...?

Sous un terme générique, la « peinture » balaie un grand nombre de techniques : l’huile, l’acrylique, la tempera, l’aérosol, etc.


Comme la peinture, l’estampe se décline en plusieurs procédés. Il existe une vingtaine de façons de reproduire une image; arrêtons nous sur quelques une d’entre elles. 


Les estampes en relief 

gravure sur bois enchères erro

Gravure sur bois


L’art ancestral de la gravure sur bois consiste à évider les zones qui resteront blanches, tout ce qui est en relief sera alors encré. On obtient un négatif : c’est le système du tampon. Le Moyen-âge a vu l’invention de cette technique, qui précède de peu celle de l’imprimerie.


A contrario, la gravure en entaille consiste à creuser des sillons au burin ou à la pointe-sèche pour y insérer une encre épaisse. La plaque est ensuite pressée contre le papier, qui laisse découvrir les lignes précédemment creusées. Il s’agit alors d’un positif. Rembrandt excellait dans ce procédé. 


L’impression à plat 


La lithographie et la sérigraphie ne sont pas à proprement parler des gravures puisqu’il n’y a pas de jeu de relief. Mais elles sont des estampes par nature puisqu’elles permettent de reproduire une image imprimée grâce à une matrice. Daumier ou Toulouse-Lautrec ont notamment travaillé ce procédé. 


La lithographie permet de reproduire l’image dessinée au crayon sur une pierre calcaire alors que la sérigraphie relève d’une impression par pochoir. Les artistes contemporains sont friands de cette méthode. 


Les avantages d’acquérir une estampe


Grâce à l’estampe, les artistes peuvent réaliser une oeuvre en plusieurs tirages. Cela bénéficie aussi à l’amateur d’art car l’oeuvre multiple est plus avantageuse financièrement.  Cependant la côte de l’estampe varie en fonction de l’artiste : un tirage de Picasso peut atteindre plusieurs millions.


Le nombre d’exemplaires tirés fait aussi varier la valeur : si un tirage moyen peut compter cent exemplaires, une série de 25 estampes sera plus recherchée, d'autant plus si l’oeuvre est numérotée et signée par l’artiste. 


Les artistes contemporains et la sérigraphie 


Le XXème siècle a vu la reproduction de l’image se faciliter, jusqu’à devenir un procédé industriel. Certains artistes des années 1960 ont profité de cette technique publicitaire pour contester la consommation grandissante. Vous aurez reconnu dans cette définition le mouvement Pop Art. Andy Warhol et Roy Lichtenstein se sont effectivement distingués par l’utilisation de la technique d’impression de la publicité mais aussi des images. 


L’artiste islandais Erro est un contemporain de ces deux virtuoses de l’impression dont il a connu les influences. 


lithographie erro enchères

Lithographie Erro, numérotée 11/75, datée de1997, signée en bas à droite. Estimation 300-500€



Deux oeuvres d’Erro aux enchères 


Bidtween vous donne l’occasion d’acquérir deux sérigraphies numérotées et signées par Erro. Artiste contemporain qui a exposé à la galerie Perrotin à New-York cette année, qui a fait don de 66 oeuvres au Centre Pompidou, et dont une retrospective a eu lieu au musée des Beaux-Arts de Lyon en 2014. 


Influencé par mai 68, Erro attache de l’importance à la guerre du Vietnam, qu’il décrit ironiquement dans ses oeuvres. Ses rencontres avec Man Ray, Duchamp ou Miro vont aussi forger son art. Mais c’est un artiste que l’on rattache aisément au courant Pop Art, puisque ses oeuvres sont empreintes d’images de la culture populaire. 


Andy Warhol regarde l'oeuvre de Thomas Dellert, 1980, Bruno Erhs



Cependant, Erro va plus loin que les pop-artistes en s’intéressant aux cultures mondiales les plus diverses. En fait, on le considère comme le fondateur de la « figuration narrative », mouvement qui prône l’image comme discours engagé.


Grâce au collage, il fait se côtoyer les visages de despotes avec les personnages de Walt Disney. Sur d’autres oeuvres, la culture japonaise se mêle aux comics américains, et ailleurs l’humain et la mécanique ne font plus qu’un. 


Lithographie Erro enchères

Lithographie Erro, numérotée 67/199, datée 2001, signée en bas à droite. Estimation 300-500€