Start your book and artwork's collection

Save the date for the Rare Book and Art Object Fair in Paris


Access the biggest ephemeral library, observe exceptional artworks, have your objects assessed, start a collection, everything is possible during this Spring in Paris and in one place.


We recommend you to go from the 13th to the 15th of April at the Grand Palais on the occasion of the Rare Book and Art Object International Fair.



Also in 2018, it is the 30th edition of the Rare Book International Fair, organised by the SLAM, the Ancient and Modern Bookshop National Federation that will open its gates. The Specialised Experts National Chamber joined the fair last year to create the Rare Book and Art Object Fair, an event gathering all the highest level of French expertise.


More than 100 000 exhibited documents and objects


The Fair brings together art objects experts in 40 specialities, from archaeology to contemporary art passing by jewelleries, haute-époque, tribal art, ancient weapons or even fashion, everything in a prestige setting : under the glass roof of the Grand Palais. You will be able to meet 150 booksellers and 50 experts and to admire around 100 000 documents and exhibited objects. 


Also, 50 of the best experts, in any speciality, present during the Fair will be there to explain their job and to answer your questions. Whether it be about the authenticity of an object, its estimate or how to sell it, these specialists will be there to guide you but also to assess your objects for free.



Old books and art objects sales : advice to start your collection 



Book lovers will be awarded by the presence of ancient books, rare books and autographs. You will even be able to buy some copies on sale. To start your library with less than 150 € is going to be possible during this fair. The price should not stop you from starting a collection. And as a proof, on the Fair discovery stall, a common space to all the booksellers, it is easy to begin with around ten euros. 


To show their skills, the experts present on the Fair, who are sometimes renowned merchants, will sell a selection of unusual or rare objects, but also affordable ones for those who want to start a collection or just to enjoy.


The objective of this Fair ? To raise awareness among the wide audience to the timeless wealth of written, printed or graphic testimonies on one hand, and on the other hand, to the discovery of the most beautiful art objects, rare or curious, all full of personal, well-known or unexpected history. 



Rare exhibitions enhance the Rare Book and Art Object Fair


In order to illustrate "The creative genius"guideline of the Rare Book and Art Object Fair this year, you will be able to discover three main exhibitions at the heart of this event.


The guest of honour of this Rare Book Fair, the IMEC, contemporary edition Memories Institute, will present a selection of drafts and manuscripts from the greatest contemporary writters : Marguerite Duras, Louis Althusser, Jacques Audiberti, André Mare, Philippe Soupault, Paul Eluard... but also photographs of great authors by Gisèle Freund. 



The guest of honour of the Art Object Fair, the Cnam, for the National Conservatory of arts and crafts, will exceptionally lend objects from their storehouse and will show the restoration process of some pieces from their collections. 


As for the Etchings and Photograpy Department of the BnF (France National Library), they will exhibit a selection of prints, drawings and posters from the modern and contemporary period. This exhibition will explain, through the evolution of the engraved mould, how etchings are a way to offer the possibility to follow the different steps of the artist's work. 


Come and make your own paper at the Grand Palais !



This fair, true cultural window, is designed as a place for discovery and initiation for the public, a crossroads where fans and curious meet. 


Also, you will be able to go for a guided tour made by booksellers, understand bibliophily, discover the mythical universe of second-hand book sellers from Paris who will be exhibiting during the Fair, understand the production of paper by making it yourself in the course of the Fair.


Also, read : With Essentiam, ancient and new books are on the same page





RARE BOOK AND ART OBJECT

INTERNATIONAL BOOK FAIR 

Grand Palais / Avenue Winston Churchill / 75008 PARIS 

Friday 13 april : 11am-9pm 

Saturday 14 april : 11am-8pm 

Sunday 15 april : 11am-7pm

Commencer sa collection de livres rares et d'oeuvres d'art

RDV au Salon du livre rare et de l'objet d'art à Paris


Accéder à la plus grande bibliothèque éphémère, voir des oeuvres d'exception, faire expertiser vos objets, commencer une collection, tout cela est possible au printemps à Paris et en un seul lieu.


Nous vous proposons donc de vous rendre du 13 au 15 avril au Grand Palais à l'occasion du Salon International du Livre Rare et de l’Objet d’Art.



Aussi en 2018, c'est la 30e édition du Salon International du Livre Rare, organisée par le SLAM, le Syndicat National de la Librairie Ancienne et Moderne qui ouvrira ses portes. Le salon a été rejoint par la Chambre Nationale des Experts Spécialisés l'an dernier pour créer le Salon du Livre Rare et de l’Objet d’Art, une manifestation regroupant l’expertise française à son plus haut niveau.


Plus de 100 000 documents et objets exposés


Le salon réunit des experts en objets d’art dans 40 spécialités, de l’archéologie à l’art contemporain en passant par les bijoux, la haute-époque, l’art tribal, les armes anciennes ou encore la mode, et cela dans un écrin de prestige : sous la verrière du Grand Palais. Vous pourrez faire la connaissance de 150 libraires et 50 experts et admirer quelques 100 000 documents et objets exposés. 


Aussi, les 50 plus grands experts, en toutes spécialités, présents sur le salon seront là aussi pour expliquer leur métier et répondre à toutes vos questions. Qu’elles concernent l’authenticité d’un objet, l’attribution du prix ou comment vendre cette pièce, ces spécialistes seront là pour vous guider mais également pour vous proposer une expertise gratuite de vos objets.



Ventes de livres anciens et objets d'art : des conseils pour bien commencer sa collection 



Les bibliophiles seront récompensés avec la présence de livres anciens, livres rares et autographes. Vous pourrez même acheter certains exemplaires proposés à la vente. Commencer sa bibliothèque à moins de 150 € sera possible lors de ce salon. Le prix ne doit pas être un frein au démarrage d'une collection. La preuve, sur le stand découverte du Salon, un espace commun à tous les libraires, il est facile de se lancer à partir de quelques dizaines d'euros. 


Pour montrer leur savoir-faire, les experts présents sur le Salon, qui sont parfois des marchands de renom, proposeront à la vente des objets sélectionnés, insolites ou rares mais aussi accessibles à tous ceux qui souhaitent commencer une collection ou tout simplement se faire plaisir.


L'objectif du salon ? Sensibiliser un large public à la richesse intemporelle des témoignages écrits, imprimés ou graphiques d’une part, et à la découverte des plus beaux objets d’art, rares ou curieux, tous chargés d’une histoire personnelle, connue ou insolite, d’autre part. 



De rares expositions viennent enrichir le Salon du Livre Rare et de l’Objet d’Art


Afin d'illustrer "Le génie créateur"ligne directrice du Salon du Livre Rare et de l’Objet d’Art cette année, vous pourrez visiter trois expositions majeures au cœur de cet évènement.


L’invité d’honneur du Salon du Livre Rare, l’IMEC, Institut Mémoires de l’édition contemporaine, présentera une sélection de brouillons et manuscrits des plus grands écrivains contemporains : Marguerite Duras, Louis Althusser, Jacques Audiberti, André Mare, Philippe Soupault, Paul Eluard... mais aussi des photographies de grands écrivains par Gisèle Freund. 



L’invité d’honneur du Salon de l’Objet d’art, le Cnam, le Conservatoire national des arts et métiers, prêtera exceptionnellement des objets issus de ses réserves et montrera le processus de restauration de certaines pièces de ses collections. 


Quant au Département des Estampes et de la photographie de la BnF, il exposera une sélection d’estampes, dessins et affiches de la période moderne et contemporaine. Cette exposition montrera, à travers l’évolution de la matrice gravée, comment l’estampe est un médium qui offre la possibilité de suivre les différentes étapes du travail de l’artiste. 


Venez fabriquer vous-même du papier au Grand Palais !



Ce salon, véritable vitrine culturelle, est conçu comme un lieu de découverte et d’initiation pour le grand public, un carrefour de rencontres, de passionnés et de curieux. 


Aussi vous pourrez assister à une visite guidée faite par les libraires, comprendre la bibliophilie, découvrir l’univers mythique des bouquinistes de Paris qui exposent au Salon, comprendre la fabrication du papier en mettant vous-même "la main à la pâte" pendant le salon.

A lire aussi : Avec Essentiam, les livres anciens sont à la page

A voir : Le Bidtalk "Les livres rares aux enchères"


A ne pas rater :  A Redu dans les ardennes belges, le 1er village du livre sur le Continent nuit du livre. 1er samedi du mois d'août du samedi matin au dimanche soir non stop