The history of Football table

The invention of the babyfoot, or "table football", is not clearly established. For all that, we agree to give him European origins, which would go up at the end of the 19th century. It is in France and Germany that the first "tables" of football are born

The history of Football table


It has long been invincible in the coffee and bistro rooms of France. But after a few decades of disappearance, accused of noises, troubles and tackiness, the Football table of our childhood finally returns to grace. A revival of interest probably due in part to the recent successes of the team of France in the football World Cup. 

As well as a certain idea of French friendliness. Here we offer a return on the history of Foosball, a game of coffee that now invites you to your home.



European origins 


The invention of the babyfoot, or "table football", is not clearly established. For all that, we agree to give him European origins, which would go up at the end of the 19th century. It is in France and Germany that the first "tables" of football are born. For some, it is a mechanic of a car factory, Lucien Rosengart, who would have the first invented the "baby". For others, it is a Spanish poet, Alejandro Finisterre, who would have imagined this game and its mechanism. There are many assumptions and even a Mr kicker, the well-named, a Swiss who too, could well have been the inventor of table football.

In any case, the first patented Football tableis released in the United States in 1901. But in the Atlantic, football, or rather soccer, is not really appreciated, and you have to wait for GI to return from Germany so that the game will win some form of success. The Americans call it more readily "fussball", the German name of the famous balloon sport.

In France, Belgium, Switzerland, Italy and elsewhere, manufacturers offer babyfoots as early as the 1930s. Bonzini is required in the hexagon, just as Sulpie in the years 50, René Pierre or Stella.


Technical innovations


In the beginning, the Football tabletakes the form of a wooden crate with 8 outgoing bars, which are surmounted by 22 figurines, and a cage at each end for the purposes. Basic, the baby has gradually improved. Technical innovations often due to the famous Bonzini, whose car factories turn at full speed in the years 50.

These include telescopic bars, which are much safer than outgoing bars, which are also banned in France. In the years 50, players in lead or plastic also appeared on the grounds. The baby's bistro also has one or two ashtrays, an abacus to count the points of each team/player, a coin, folding feet, a vinyl mat, gentle sloping corners... Cork or plastic balls are exchanged between players depending on the region in which they are played. And indeed, the rules of the game evolve from one country to another, sometimes even from one coffee to another, despite the efforts of standardization on the part of the federations.

Latest Innovation in Date: the connected foosball. In this last generation table, an application takes care of live arbitration and counting points. And the speed of the bullets is accurately measured.



Coffee rooms with private interiors


It was in the years 60-70 that the babyfoot was most successful. All the pubs and cafes of France, in the city as in the countryside, see their room resonate "bowl!", "Half!" and other "Rake!". The arrival of pinball machines, electronic games and arcade kiosks signs for a time the end of the foosball. But for some years, a certain taste for nostalgia and vintage comes out of the touch the baby, which takes place in cafes, as well as darts. France's victory at the football World Cup 2018 should also play in favor of the famous coffee game.

Since the years 90-2000, the Babyfoot has also been imposed on individuals. To meet their demand, manufacturers offer basic plastic models, inexpensive, easy to transport and usable outdoors. Luxurious models are also found; Bonzini offers customizable copies, which are enthroned in luxury hotels, large companies or with demanding individuals.


Treat yourself to a rare table football with a beautiful lot proposed by the house Sequana

Acheter un Baby foot et connaître son histoire

Découvrez notre enquête sur l'histoire du baby-foot.

L’histoire du baby-foot


Il a longtemps été indétrônable dans les salles de café et de bistrot de France. Mais après une disparition de quelques décennies, accusé de bruits, de troubles et de ringardise, le baby-foot de notre enfance opère finalement un retour en grâce. Un regain d’intérêt sans doute dû en partie aux succès récents de l’équipe de France en Coupe du Monde de football. Ainsi qu’à une certaine idée de la convivialité à la française. Nous vous proposons ici un retour sur l’histoire du baby-foot, un jeu de café qui s’invite désormais chez vous, à votre domicile.


Des origines européennes


L’invention du babyfoot, ou du « football de table », n’est pas clairement établie. Pour autant, on s’accorde pour lui attribuer des origines européennes, lesquelles remonteraient à la fin du 19e siècle. C’est en France et en Allemagne que les premières « tables » de football voient le jour. Pour certains, c’est un mécanicien d’une usine automobile, Lucien Rosengart, qui aurait le premier inventé le « baby ». Pour d’autres, c’est un poète espagnol, Alejandro Finisterre, qui aurait imaginé ce jeu et son mécanisme. Les hypothèses sont nombreuses et l’on cite même un Mr Kicker, le bien nommé, un Suisse qui lui aussi, aurait bien pu être l’inventeur du foot de table.

Dans tous les cas, le premier baby-foot breveté sort aux Etats-Unis en 1901. Mais outre-Atlantique, le foot, ou plutôt le soccer, n’est pas franchement apprécié, et il faut attendre que des GI rentrent d’Allemagne pour que le jeu remporte une certaine forme de succès. Les Américains l’appellent d’ailleurs plus volontiers « fussball », nom allemand du célèbre sport de ballon.

En France, en Belgique, en Suisse, en Italie et ailleurs, les fabricants proposent des babyfoots dès les années 30. Bonzini s’impose dans l’Hexagone, tout comme Sulpie dans les années 50, René Pierre ou Stella.


Les innovations techniques


A l’origine, le baby-foot prend la forme d’une caisse en bois munie de 8 barres sortantes, lesquelles sont surmontées de 22 figurines, et d’une cage à chaque extrémité pour les buts. Basique, le baby s’est progressivement amélioré. Des innovations techniques souvent dues au célèbre Bonzini, dont les usines de Bagnolet tournent à plein régime dans les années 50.

Parmi elles, citons les barres télescopiques, bien plus sûres que les barres sortantes, lesquelles sont d’ailleurs interdites en France. Dans les années 50, les joueurs en plomb ou en plastique apparaissent aussi sur les terrains. Les babys de bistrot se parent aussi d’un ou deux cendriers, de bouliers pour compter les points de chaque équipe/joueur, d’un monnayeur, de pieds pliables, d’un tapis en vinyle, de corners en pente douce… Les balles en liège ou en plastique s’échangent entre joueurs selon la région dans laquelle on joue. Et en effet, les règles du jeu évoluent d’un pays à l’autre, parfois même d’un café à l’autre et ce, malgré les efforts de normalisation de la part des fédérations.

Dernière innovation en date : le baby-foot connecté. Dans cette table de dernière génération, une application se charge de l’arbitrage en direct et de compter les points. Et la vitesse des balles est mesurée de façon précise.


Des salles de café aux intérieurs des particuliers


C’est dans les années 60-70 que le babyfoot a le plus de succès. Tous les bistrots et cafés de France, à la ville comme à la campagne, voient leur salle résonner des « gamelle ! », « demi ! » et autre « râteau ! ». L’arrivée des flippers, des jeux électroniques et des bornes d’arcade signe pendant un temps la fin des baby-foots. Mais depuis quelques années, un certain goût pour la nostalgie et le vintage sort de la touche le baby, lequel reprend place dans les cafés, au même titre que les jeux de fléchettes. La victoire de la France à la Coupe du Monde de foot 2018 devrait également jouer en faveur du célèbre jeu de café.

Depuis les années 90-2000, le babyfoot s’est également imposé chez les particuliers. Pour répondre à leur demande, les fabricants proposent des modèles basiques en plastique, peu chers, faciles à transporter et utilisables en extérieur. On trouve également des modèles luxueux ; Bonzini propose ainsi des exemplaires personnalisables, lesquels trônent dans des hôtels de luxe, de grandes entreprises ou chez des particuliers exigeants.



Offrez-vous un rare baby-foot avec un magnifique lot proposé par la maison Sequana